Pohjoismaiden Uimaliiton NSF:n edustajat tuomitsevat jyrkästi Venäjän ja Valko-Venäjän toimet Ukrainaa vastaan ja vaativat Venäjän ja Valko-Venäjän poissulkemista kaikesta toiminnasta kansainvälisessä uintiurheilussa. Lue yhteinen julkilausuma alta.
Representatives of the Nordic Swimming Federation NSF strongly condemn the actions of Russia and Belarus against Ukraine and demand the exclusion of Russia and Belarus from all forms of international aquatics.

Joint statement of the Nordic Swimming Federations regarding the invasion of Ukraine

The Nordic Swimming Federations strongly condemn the invasion of Ukraine by the Russian government supported by the government of Belarus. We call on the international aquatics’ community, and especially FINA, to immediately suspend Russia and Belarus from all involvement in international aquatics until a peaceful resolution of this conflict. All parties should be able to take part in future sporting activities on equal terms.

Actions should include the relocation or cancellation of all events currently planned in Russia or Belarus, as already requested by the International Olympic Committee, and the exclusion of representatives of Russia and Belarus from all recognized aquatics events and governing bodies. Ukrainian athletes have been forced to defend their homes and families, and are unable to train or compete solely because of the inhuman actions of the Russian and Belarusian governments. Until this situation is resolved, Russia and Belarus should not take part in international aquatics at any level.

The Nordic Swimming Federations will not attend any event staged in Russia or Belarus as the situation stands, including the FINA World Junior Swimming Championships and the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) which is scheduled for Kazan, Russia later this year. Our hearts go out to the Ukrainian people who now suffer under this brutal act of war, and to our dear friends in the aquatics family who are now pushed into a fight for survival rather than for sporting glory.

February 26th, 2022
Denmark Pia M. Johansen, president
Estonia Simon Renno, president
Faroe Islands Rókur í Jákupsstovu, president
Finland Ville Riekkinen, president
Iceland Björn Sigurðsson, president
Latvia Aivars Platonovs, president
Lithuania Tomas Kučinskas, president
Norway Cato Bratbakk, president
Sweden Pia Zätterström, president